My Own Stage

A reminder to all of us to keep our dreams alive.

A refugee's journey - Vietnam to Australia

My dream of creating my own stage and drawing an audience has been buried beneath other priorities in my life. My dream of creating my own stage and drawing an audience has been buried beneath other priorities in my life.

For me, music has always been a stream of inspiration, the medicine for dejection, and an elixir of zest.

I love to sing, and find myself perpetually absorbed by the songs on stages, TVs, radios,… In my adolescent, I would put fingers on my throat when singing to make the vibrato, and put my face inside a wash-basin to feel the echo and amplification of my voice.

In my 40s, I took private singing lessons and joined a choir that exclusively sang ABBA songs. However, I felt dissatisfied with only two public performances per year for the group. I managed to quench my thirst of singing through the occasional karaoke party but just like fashion, the trend died down after a few years.

An encounter with a young girl sowed…

View original post 408 more words

Author: Tricia Pimental

Born in Brooklyn, New York, Tricia Pimental's second memoir, A Movable Marriage, has received 5 Star reviews from both Epic Book Quest and Readers' Favorite. It's available on Amazon in both Kindle (amzn.to/1RtRBwp) and print (amzn.to/1OiGlUU) versions. She is also the author of two Royal Palm Literary Award Competition-honored books: Rabbit Trail: How a Former Playboy Bunny Found Her Way, and Slippery Slopes. Other work has appeared in International Living Magazine; A Janela, the quarterly magazine of International Women in Portugal; and anthologies compiled by the Florida Writers Association and the National League of American Pen Women. A member of the Screen Actors Guild-American Federation of Television and Radio Artists and a former Toastmaster, Ms. Pimental resides in Portugal. She can be reached at www.triciapimental.com and on Twitter @Tricialafille.

4 thoughts on “My Own Stage”

  1. Hi Tricia, Stories like that always remind me of how fortunate we’ve been growing up and rearing families either in Europe or the US! We really have nothing to complain about. Hope you’re enjoying your weekend so far. Bjs Pat.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

